Spring is Sprung, the grass has riz……

Ode to Spring
“Spring has sprung, The Grass has riz, I wonder where the birdies is?  The bird is on the wing they say, But that’s absurd!  Because the wing is on the bird!”

My Dad says this as soon as the sun starts to shine and for me it brings the first scent of Spring far more than any cuckoo call can.

Unfortunately Spring also usually always brings a horrid head cold with it, and this year is no exception.  So I’m sat in bed with a Lemsip (other brands of cold remedy are also available 😉) and a box of soft tissues looking out of the window at the sunshine glinting on the dewy wet grass and the soft buds starting to swell on the apple trees.  I should really wrap up and go and make a start on the Spring time tidy up that the garden so badly needs. But Mr Hedgehog is still slumbering under the bonfire pile, so we can’t set that ablaze yet and the birds are starting to pick at the dried tufts of grass to weave into the beginning of their nests so it would be wrong to chop them back right now. So I guess I’ll just sit here and sniff and type and sniff.

What I really like about this time of year is that you can bring the outdoors in by making a Spring vignette with bright yellow, cheerful blooms.

 This has really cheered me up. I picked up some bark on a recent walk through The New Forest, the wood inside had  completely rotted leaving just the bark in a perfect tube, so I planted some miniature daffodil bulbs in a tall jam jar and slid it into the bark tube.  Perfect roses match the yellow of the daffodils and pick out primrose colour on the pretty little jug (that my sister made for me). I’ve added some thyme, the lush little green leaves bring a lovely warm scent to the whole arrangement.  Spring has arrived in our kitchen.

I think it’s lovely to herald the beginning of each season and to mark the arrival of Spring with flowers is better than marking it with a head cold.

One Comment Add yours

  1. julietwilson says:

    Lovely arrangement of flowers! I really like what you’ve done with the tube of bark…. Hope your cold clears up soon

    Juliet
    http://craftygreenpoet.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

