Snickerdoodle Loaf and somewhere to keep it.

As you know I have a love for recycling, upcycling, reclaiming and reusing, and Brontë and I like nothing better than trawling through the many Charity Shops of Salisbury.  So you can imagine my delight when she came across a rather sad and neglected bread bin in a pile destined for the dump (this is where I kick myself for not taking ‘before’ pictures) and with the help of Nick, his trusty sander, a bit of elbow grease and a good dollop of mineral oil we turned this sad old crusty, crust bin into a thing of beauty.  Doesn’t she look lovely?image

After giving her pride of place (and therefore having a good old sort out) in the kitchen, I felt the Domestic Goddess in me rise up and the need to bake had to be fulfilled.

Now, I’m not the greatest baker (but can fortunately blame most of my mistakes on my dodgy old oven which never quite hits the temperature it’s supposed to) but Nick has bought me a wonderful kMix and I’m feeling guilty that I’m not using it as much as I should, so I remembered this super recipe from Spoon University that allows you to chuck in any combo of ‘added bits’. What a great opportunity.  I don’t often get the right ratio of MOTIVATION:TIME:INGREDIENTS and this recipe ensures that I could use up whatever I had in the cupboard ;

Ingredients:
1½ cups plain flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
½ teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon (+ ½ tablespoon cinnamon, keep separate)
½ cup butter, softened
1 cup sugar
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
½ cup Greek yogurt
¾ cup add-ins (nuts, raisins, dried berries, chocolate chips)
1 teaspoon brown sugar (to mix with the remaining cinnamon)

1. Preheat oven to 180°C Grease and flour one 9×5″ loaf pan
2. Whisk flour, baking powder, salt and one teaspoon of cinnamon together in a medium bowl.
3. Cream butter and sugar until fluffy in a large bowl using an electric mixer or by hand  (This should take about 5 minutes.)
4. Thoroughly mix one egg in at a time.
5. Mix in vanilla and Greek yogurt.
6. Add dried ingredients and mix until just combined.
7. Fold in desired additions (that’s my favourite bit!!! I added banana, walnuts and chocolate chips)
8. Pour into the cake tin
9. Combine brown sugar and tablespoon of cinnamon in a small dish. Top bread evenly with mixture.
10. Bake 40-45 minutes, until the bread has lightly browned and a toothpick can be cleanly inserted. Cool and enjoy at room temperature.

The top of this cake goes all crunchy and cinnamoney and is just scrumptious.

I’m not a regular baker and I didn’t ever seem to have the right tin size for the recipes I wanted to try so I bought an adjustable tin made by Silverwood

image
One size fits all!

so I can now cook any size cake, as long as it’s not round!!!! But although it’s perfect for any size tray bake, it’s not actually loaf shape so my cake was therefore a little ‘flat’.

However, whatever I turn out is always gladly received by Nick and Faye and never lasts much longer than a day or two. Maybe they’re trying to give me more opportunities to practice???image 😉

Leave a Reply

